top of page

Being treated as a tourist

Today I had a reality check. I took this excursion to go to the beach just because it would be faster and would allow me to see 3 beaches in one day for the same price as the normal bus would take me to one.

Well, big mistake!!! It was an extremely pushy and touristy thing. I woke up at 6am and we arrived at 8pm and I just had 1h to really be on the beach.

First they pushed this boogie staff on you which is really expensive and since I was the only one not wanting to do it, they ended up giving it to me for free because it was more work for them to let me go back to the bus and do a walk while people are on the boogies. They offered me a cheaper price first and since they saw that I really was not interested, they gave up and gave it to me for free.

Well, they try to sell you crap every 5 minutes. They treat you as an ATM. They also treat you as a sheep, everybody has to take stupid selfies all the time and everyone must want to have lunch in the most expensive place and do the boogie walk, if you do not want that. Of course, you need a boat with your picture where all you see is yourself and the sea in the back. That picture could be taken in any coastal country of the world. They really try to make you feel like you are weird when you do not do exactly what everybody else does.

All I wanted to do was to lay down on the beach, rest, walk and think. Is that too much to ask? Yes, it was.

They treat you like if you had never left your house before and never seen a beach before.

One guide was nice and fun but she explained zero about the geological labyrinth she was showing us. I thought about asking but I saw she and none else was interested in really learning anything. The free walking tours of Montevideo, Cusco and Quito were so amazing and informative!!!

They stopped at a bathroom that was next to a big touristy food store for 30 minutes, what a coincidence. They sold everyone a plastic thingy to protect your cell phone for the grout. Well, that stupid grout had nothing to see and it was 5 meters long and even if you were dying to take a picture, your cell was not going to get damaged anyways. Then they had these poor tiny donkeys, dressed with pink and green hair for people to get on them and take pictures. Yes, adults, not even for children. Really sad.

The entire day make me realized how much they treat us as sheep and how people take it and they do not even realize.

bottom of page